EBOOK ✓ EPUB Cut Me Loose ã 9780385538091 Ä LEAH VINCENT

KINDLE Cut Me Loose

EBOOK ✓ EPUB Cut Me Loose ã 9780385538091 Ä LEAH VINCENT Ä ➜ [Epub] ❧ Cut Me Loose By Leah Vincent ➦ – Dogsalonbristol.co.uk In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl Interrupted an electrifying memoir about a young woman's promiscuous and self destructive spiral after being cIn the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl Interrupted an electrifying memoir about a young woman's promiscuous and self destructive spiral after being cast out of her ultra Orthodox Jewish family Leah Vincent was born into the Yeshivish community a fundamentalist sect of ultra Orthodox Judaism As the daughter of an influential rabbi Leah and her ten siblings were raised to worship two things God and the men who ruled their world But the tradition bound future Leah envisioned for herself was cut short when at si This is not a review of this book I haven't read it and don't know if I will having OD'd on the genre Instead I will give you a brief synopsis of my own yeshivish Orthodox memoir The one I'll never write because it's far too boring to publish But having grown up in that world I can tell you that my experiences are pretty typical My family self identified as yeshivish but that word actually has a pretty broad meaning We were strict about our Orthodox practices but I certainly wouldn't describe us as fundamentalist a word being thrown around a lot in this book's reviews We had some family dysfunction which was pretty painful to live through at the time but we're kind of over it now I attended a strict all girls' high school Sometimes I felt intellectually stifled Mostly I was pretty happy As I matured and my world expanded I found a greater degree of intellectual openness which felt satisfying But I never wanted to abandon my Orthodox practices I'm sure I'm missing out on some experiences but overall I feel these practices enhance my life and make me a thoughtful and disciplined person The lifestyle doesn't work for everyone but it works okay for me There are also a lot of variations within the lifestyle and many people find a form that works for them rather than throwing the whole thing out I'm not here to cast doubt on the authenticity of Leah's memoir I don't assume that everyone's experiences mirror mine and certainly I've met people whose trajectories are similar to Leah's than to mine But I want to give a shout out to the many yeshivish people like me Happy memoirs may be less marketable but that doesn't mean they're less authentic or less representative This memoir represents the experiences of one individual It doesn't represent yeshivish orthodoxy as a whole

BOOK ß Cut Me Loose Å Leah Vincent

Ty as a way of attracting the male approval she had been conditioned to seek out as a child while becoming increasingly unfaithful to the religious dogma of her past Fast paced mesmerizing and brutally honest Cut Me Loose tells the story of one woman's harrowing struggle to define herself as an individual Through Leah's eyes we confront not only the oppressive world of religious fundamentalism but also the broader issues that face even the most secular young women as they grapple with sexuality and identity I have a lot of ambivalence about this book It was very painful to read and while I understand the catharsis it brought the author I had reservations about the degree to which she exposed others who will also suffer pain from her revelations This book is a fine demonstration of the misery that fundamentalist ideologies inflict on believers and escapees alike Everyone in this book suffers those who abandoned as well as the ones who were abandoned It was depressing to read about the bigotry of the ultra orthodox Jewish community Though I am Jewish and have known that these communities existed I was oblivious to the depth of their isolation and abandonment of the modern world I was appalled at their views of other races religions and general education The treatment of women and of anyone who uestions anything infuriated me My experience of Judaism is one of progressiveness encouraging uestions taking on the plight of the poor and disenfranchised Where are those people in Leah's world? They don't exist Her family lives in a bubble of its own creation perpetuating a narrowness that advances no one Leah is unuestionably self destructive on a monumental scale when she is drop kicked into New York City with no money no support no basic human care I can't fathom how one survives that The fact that she did is a tribute to her strength Spoiler follows That said the story itself focused on the pain and not much on the salvation She has obviously become a thriving adult who has a life at last that is positive and sustaining But how did she really get there? What happened when she went off to Harvard? Are we to believe that she has accomplished her goals without any counseling at all? If so then her lesson isn't especially helpful to others in similar situations Only in the last pages do we get a glimpse of the group that she now works for a group that helps people abandoned by their community make a healthy transition to a new life She attributes much of her survival to yet another incredibly destructive relationship that was based on a tremendous power disparity among other things Yet she never uestions or analyzes this at all Suddenly in the second to last page she finds love a family Harvard all without any struggle Her brother also eventually leaves the religious community and the two of them re connect and support one another There is precious little about the how to in these two enormous successful transitions That was disappointing In the end I was left with the impression that the book was a way to cleanse herself to forgive herself to show just how horrible it all was without providing any positive guidance on how she finally attained a degree of mental health While it was well written and a fast read in the end it lacked the depth that this subject deserved

Leah Vincent Å Cut Me Loose KINDLE

Cut Me LooseXteen she was caught exchanging letters with a male friend a violation of religious law that forbids contact between members of the opposite sex Leah's parents were unforgiving Afraid in part that her behavior would affect the marriage prospects of their other children they put her on a plane and cut off ties Cast out in New York City without a father or husband tethering her to the Orthodox community Leah was unprepared to navigate the freedoms of secular life She spent the next few years using her sexuali This is a brave soul baring and often shocking memoir by a young woman who left the Orthodox Jewish path of her upbringing but I’m sorry to say there are parts of it that I find hard to believeI have no trouble believing any of the sex and there’s uite a lot here It’s pretty explicit too and it’s rarely the healthy and loving kind But I completely understand how it could happen Modesty is the #1 concept drilled into Orthodox Jewish women and when it’s enforced incorrectly it becomes the area in which a young woman is most likely to rebel Because Leah was taught that a woman is either modest and chaste or she’s a slut she fulfilled that expectation and entered into uite a few unhealthy and exploitative sexual relationships before she gained balance in that area I know that many non Orthodox and non Jewish readers will blame her “fundamentalist” upbringing for this but I come from the opposite perspective I was raised in the secular world and my first relationships were almost as bad as hers As I’ve discovered from my sister who is still secular that’s the case for just about every woman she knows Emotional abuse drug and alcohol use unwanted pregnancies even date rape – these are not uncommon experiences amongst women who engage in premarital sex Modesty does offer women protection and it's not a double standard in the Orthodox world either because it’s also expected of men But I do understand that it’s possible for a parent to go overboard in the enforcement of modesty and the inevitable result is a painful rebellionSo while I believe everything Leah so bravely revealed about her sex life including if not especially the instinctive cry of her heart for G d even while she was violating the most serious of prohibitions her portrayal of her parents is another matter It may be true but they’re not like any Jewish parents I know As I’ve said in other reviews I’m the parent of an “off the path” kid myself and I belong to a support group where I know many others I believe that if any one of us chas v’shalom a million times received a call from a hospital that our kid just attempted suicide we’d drop everything and run to our kid’s bedside Leah portrays her mother as so cold hearted the nurse had to persuade her to come Perhaps there are parents like that but they’re a rarity The “tough love” silent treatment is most definitely not what the experts are recommending to my support group But who knows? Perhaps it’s because of Leah’s memoir Her story can teach all parents what not to do with your non Orthodox childAs a person I respect Leah She’s put herself and her life back together I don’t see why she considered eating bacon and eggs with her similarly off the path brother to be worthy of inclusion in her book as though it was an accomplishment worth boasting about but getting a Master’s degree from Harvard is nothing to sneeze at It’s funny that though my life is in many ways the opposite of hers – I joined Orthodoxy particularly because I find strength in modesty – we have many similarities I too had a much older lover I too graduated from Brooklyn College And I too desperately desire the validation of getting accepted into grad school So maybe we two opposites will end up meeting in the middle and if the middle is academia then that’s pretty cool

recipe