SUMMARY ¾ The Atlas of Us


FREE READ The Atlas of Us

SUMMARY ¾ The Atlas of Us Í ➺ [Reading] ➼ The Atlas of Us By Tracy Buchanan ➯ – Dogsalonbristol.co.uk Previously published as The Atlas of Us in the UK How far would you go for those you love the most When Louise McKenzie’s mother is reported missing after the Boxing Day tsunami Louise leaves her yo Previously published as ThPreviously published as The Atlas of Us in the UK How far would you go for those you love the most When Louise McKenzie’s mother is reported missing after the Boxing Day tsunami Louise leaves her young family and travels to Thailand There she finds a bag containing her mother’s passport and a book filled with beautifully illustrated maps The Atlas of Us The Atlas Kindle belonging to a woman named Claire Who is Claire How was Louise’s mom connected to her And might the atlas help Louise find the answers she needs – an. Didn't finish I wanted this to be a fun and light read in the vein of Lucy ClarkeDeborah LawrensonLouise Douglas but after a few chapters it just wasn't grabbing me at all and I found the romance way too obvious and contrived Also amused to note the author biography on Goodreads in which it's mentioned that the author used to be a travel magazine editor and owns a one eyed dog The main character in this book is a travel magazine editor and owns a one eyed dog I mean at least change the number of eyes on the dog

The Atlas of UsPreviously published as The Atlas of Us in the UK How far would you go for those you love the most When Louise McKenzie’s mother is reported missing after the Boxing Day tsunami Louise leaves her young family and travels to Thailand There she finds a bag containing her mother’s passport and a book filled with beautifully illustrated maps The Atlas of Us The Atlas Kindle belonging to a woman named Claire Who is Claire How was Louise’s mom connected to her And might the atlas help Louise find the answers she needs – an. Didn't finish I wanted this to be a fun and light read in the vein of Lucy ClarkeDeborah LawrensonLouise Douglas but after a few chapters it just wasn't grabbing me at all and I found the romance way too obvious and contrived Also amused to note the author biography on Goodreads in which it's mentioned that the author used to be a travel magazine editor and owns a one eyed dog The main character in this book is a travel magazine editor and owns a one eyed dog I mean at least change the number of eyes on the dog

CHARACTERS · DOGSALONBRISTOL.CO.UK ´ Tracy Buchanan

The Atlas of Us ï Orbing’ Julia Williams ‘A compelling and emotional read that pulled me in – full of intrigue and secrets A riveting story that I know will stay with me for a very long time’ Alexandra Brown ‘Beautiful heartbreaking upliftingReally worth a read’ Hello ‘An ambitious and deeply poignant story that will take you into another world’ Heat ‘I could see it playing out like a movie as I was readingI loved it’ Novelkicks ‘A pacy readA great book to take to the beach’ Daily Mail ‘Emotionally charged’ Take A Bre. Tracy Buchanan has set the bar high with her debut novel The Atlas of Us She covers a lot of ground here literally and figuratively and pulls it off Beginning with a daughter looking for her estranged mother in the debris from a Tsunami in Thailand the novel takes off and doesn't slow down With stops at a Mango Farm in Australia Venice and Finland as well as interactions emotions and mysteries that right right along your literary passport will be stamped Buchanan makes you care about the characters no matter how flawed they become and you will want an Atlas of Us for yourself the passion for love and living Murder mental illness bad marriages dysfunctional relationships and second chances abound There are some predictable and over wrought scenes but Buchanan' s history as a travel writer clearly shows and the location descriptions steal the show Well doneI am eager to see from this author and you will be tooProvided by publisher CHARACTERS · DOGSALONBRISTOL.CO.UK ´ Tracy Buchanan

Tracy Buchanan ´ 1 SUMMARY

Tracy Buchanan ´ 1 SUMMARY D her mom As Louise pores over the keepsakes hidden amongst its pages she pieces together the mystery of a love affair a dark tragedy and a secret both Claire and her mother would go to the ends of the earth to protect A gripping page turning and emotionally powerful story about love loss and making peace with the past perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty What readers are saying about Tracy Buchanan ‘A compelling page turning read about secrets in families and the unwitting conseuencesI was completely hookedSad powerful and abs. A confection of chapters that will take you around the world from Exmoor to Thailand Australia Serbia Dubai San Francisco and Finland from the A with the author at the back of the book this was her favourite locationTwo stories dovetail as lives collide and interweave from the late 20th century to the last days of 2004It is a difficult novel to review without giving away too much so despite or because of what I write you will just have to go out and buy it and see for yourself how the story evolvesLouise has struggled pretty much all her life with being to all intents and purposes abandoned by her Mother Nora who was permanently on the search for a life without bourgeois ties an artist and free spirit Early on in the book Louise discovers that her Mother in all likelihood had decamped to Thailand and was on one of the islands at the time of the Boxing Day Tsunami in 2004 Louise determines to fly out to Thailand to try and discover what may have happened to herClaire is a travel journalist who eventually finds her wings after a life riven with pitfalls She is following in her Father’s footsteps writing as she goes and it was he who encouraged her to ‘march off the map’ Things for her change drastically – again early on in the book – when she witnesses a shooting at a wedding venue she is in the middle of a break up with her partner and her life veers off on a totally unanticipated path She becomes involved with one family whose young daughter tugs on her heartstrings and their mutual fondness fills a deep emotional hole in Claire who is unable to have children of her own Claire has to deal with heartfelt situations and it is clear that the author’s own experience mentioned at the back of the book is coming throughThe stories of Louise and Claire come together and gradually there are dawning revelations just how intertwined their lives and those of their loved ones have becomeFor us at TripFiction the wonderful locations were like finding ourselves in a sweet shop as the story lines move swiftly from one locale to another all beautifully rendered It is so evident that the author is a travel editor as she pinpoints with real dexterity the different feel of the chosen locations – from the deep red earth of Uluru in Australia to war torn Serbia and the exoticism of Thailand As the characters move around each place essentially has at least one chapter devoted to it and it is clear the author is really familiar with her choice of destination and has clearly done a lot of research For me the book had a feel of a set of short stories with a couple of leitmotivs winding their way through to unify them skimming the surface; there are times when the reader gets lost in the current story; it can feel a little disruptive when it is time to move on to another character in another time and setting And if there was one small weakness it would be the coincidences of encounters between the characters in order to keep the story moving that felt a little contrivedThe Boxing Day Tsunami comes to horrific life and underpins the narrative of family loss and hope The author also ventures into Serbia at the time of war and to an animal rescue centre – Buchanan certainly does not shy away from tackling difficult themes An electric and consuming romance develops and at the heart of the story is a book full of mementoes that one lover gives to another and that is the Atlas of Us – their joint experiences and journeys both actual and emotionalThis is one of the hot Summer reads of 2014 and a wonderful way to travel the world And I can’t finish without mentioning the terrific and exotic book cover which is sure to entice the reader to purchase